Ode to a Grilled Cheese Sandwich

I like to eat, probably a little too much, and sometimes the wrong things. But some comfort foods are so…comforting. One even inspired a little poem.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ode to a Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Comfort on a griddle
That’s what grilled cheese is
Golden toasted warmth
Full of the forbidden
Things that make you feel so good
Salt and butter and fat
But it’s solace that sticks
To your ribs, the next best
Thing to a hug from your grandmother
A grilled cheese sandwich is the
Stolid best friend of the food world
Securely there, always, unchanging
Sometimes this bare thought is enough
I could have a grilled cheese later
If I feel the need

Author: thedamari

I live in Missouri, a more beautiful place than many realize. I love writing, reading, walking, bicycling, and making lists. I’ve written poetry since I was seven. A few years ago I branched out into short fiction and memoir pieces. I also perpetually have a novel in progress. My brain pursues ideas at a brisk pace, wandering all over the map. This blog represents one of my efforts to keep up with it.

5 thoughts on “Ode to a Grilled Cheese Sandwich”

  1. Great and yummy! I ate so many grilled cheese sandwiches when I was a kid that my granny called them “don’t you dare” sandwiches (as in “don’t you dare order another one!”). I like mine accompanied by tomato soup and a pickle.

    Like

Leave a comment